Who Is Ariana Grande’s New Song ‘Positions’ About? We Broke Down The Lyrics For You

It’s here, you guys. Yep, after months of waiting, Ariana Grande has finally dropped her brand new single, “Positions,” and

Ariana Grande Positions

It’s here, you guys. Yep, after months of waiting, Ariana Grande has finally dropped her brand new single, “Positions,” and we cannot stop listening to it! But wait, who is the song about, you ask? Did she write it about her relationship with Dalton Gomez? And did she really shade her ex-boyfriend Pete Davidson in it? Not to worry, people, because we broke down the lyrics once and for all for you, and boy, did she spill a lot of tea during the track!

‘Positions’ Is Definitely A Love Song

On first glance, the track seems like it’s a love song for her new beau, Gomez. 

“Switchin’ the positions for you / Cookin’ in the kitchen and I’m in the bedroom / I’m in the Olympics, way I’m jumpin’ through hoops / Know my love infinite, nothin’ I wouldn’t do / That I won’t do, switchin’ for you,” the lyrics read. “Perfect, perfect / You’re too good to be true (You’re too good to be true) / But I get tired of runnin’, f**k it / Now, I’m runnin’ with you (With you).”

For those who forgot, the singer and Gomez, who works for Aaron Kirman Group as a luxury home realtor, were first spotted packing on the PDA together in February 2020, and have been total couple goals ever since. 

“Ariana sees something different in Dalton that she has never seen before in guys she has previously dated,” a source told Us Weekly in August. “He is the type of guy she has been looking for. He’s very protective of her, will go out of his way for her and does little things that are chivalrous. Dalton will go above and beyond to meet her needs. Their relationship is serious. They’ve fallen madly in love with each other.”

There’s A Dig Towards Pete Davidson In The New Tune

During the song, it appears that the “Thank U, Next” songstress included a major dig towards her ex Davidson. At one point in “Positions,” Grande sang, “I’m just hopin’ I don’t repeat history,” and some fans were quick to notice that she took a big pause between syllables in the word “repeat” — seemingly referring to Davidson. Get it, you guys? “Re-Pete?”

As fans know, the two stars made headlines for their short-lived romance back in 2018. They started dating in May of that year and announced that they had gotten engaged just a few weeks later. But in October 2018, they shocked the entire world when they revealed that their relationship was over.

This Isn’t The First Time Ariana Grande Shaded Her Exes In Her Music

It turns out, this isn’t the first time the former Nickelodeon star threw shade towards her exes in her music. Most famously, in her song “Thank U, Next,” she sang about a few of her past relationships and get this — she even called her ex-boyfriends out by name.

“Thought I’d end up with Sean / But he wasn’t a match / Wrote some songs about Ricky / Now I listen and laugh / Even almost got married / And for Pete, I’m so thankful / Wish I could say, “Thank you” to Malcolm / ‘Cause he was an angel,” she sang, referring to her romances with Big Sean, Ricky Alvarez, Davidson and Mac Miller.

Is Ariana Grande Planning To Drop Any More New Songs?

Yep, you guys might want to brace yourselves because her new album — Positions — is dropping on Friday, October 30. That means we’re only days away from a bunch of new tracks from the Victorious alum, and we can’t wait! Want to know the best part? The album is going to include songs with Doja Cat, The Weeknd and Ty Dolla $ign. Here’s the full track list:

1. “Shut Up”

2. “34+35”

3. “Motive” feat. Doja Cat

4. “Just Like Magic”

5. “Off the Table” feat. The Weeknd

6. “Six Thirty”

7. “Safety Net” feat. Ty Dolla $ign

8. “My Hair”

9. “Nasty”

10. “West Side”

11. “Love Language”

12. “Positions”

13. “Obvious”

14. “POV”

What Else Is Ariana Grande Working On?

Besides gearing up to drop a brand new LP, the 27-year-old is also busy working on her new movie, Don’t Look Up! That’s right, Deadlinereported that the super star was cast in the upcoming flick alongside Jennifer LawrenceLeonardo DiCaprioCate BlanchettJonah HillHimesh PatelTimothée ChalametKid CudiMatthew Perry and Tomer Sisley — wow, talk about a dream team! Netflix has reportedly teamed up with Adam McKay (who was behind movies like Step BrothersAnchormanThe Big Short and more) to make the movie.

What’s it about, you ask? Well, the outlet reported that the movie will follow “two low-level astronomers who embark on a media tour to warn mankind of an approaching asteroid that will destroy Earth.” How awesome does that sound?! It’s unfortunately still unclear who Grande will play, but either way, we know this movie is going to be amazing.